{"subscriber":false,"subscribedOffers":{}} Lee Fleisher

Cookies Notification

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more.
Advertisement: UHC

Lee Fleisher

Lee A. Fleisher, MD, was named the Chief Medical Officer and Director of the Center for Clinical Standards and Quality for the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services in July 2020. In this capacity, he is responsible for executing all national clinical, quality, and safety standards for healthcare facilities and providers, as well as establishing coverage determinations for items and services that improve health outcomes for Medicare beneficiaries. 2004 through July 2020, he was the Robert D. Dripps Professor and Chair of Anesthesiology and Critical Care and Professor of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania. He is a Professor Emeritus of Anesthesiology and Critical Care at the Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania where he still practices and Senior Fellow of the Leonard Davis Institute.

Lee received his medical degree from the State University of New York at Stony Brook, from which he received the Distinguished Alumni Award in 2011. His research focuses on perioperative cardiovascular risk assessment and reduction, measurement of quality of care, decision making, implementation of cultural change and health policy. He has received numerous federal, industry and foundation grants related to these subjects and has published 175+ original articles, over 200 editorials, reviews and book chapters, and nine books and collaborates with anthropologists, sociologists, as well as faculty from law, business and nursing.

Lee was Treasurer of the Board of Directors and Chair of the Finance Committee of the National Quality Forum. He was a member of the Care Transformation Forum (CTF) of the Health Care Payment Learning and Action Network (LAN) He is currently an Affiliated Faculty of the Quattrone Center for the Fair Administration of Justice at the University of Pennsylvania Carey Law School and a Senior Fellow of the Leonard Davis Institute of Health Economics. In 2007, he was elected to membership of the National Academy of Medicine (formerly Institute of Medicine) of the National Academy of Sciences and served on Committees of the NAM.